On Saturday and Sunday Labour Day weekend, Fairfield Museum comes to life.
Re-enactors and demonstrators alike, descend on our little museum to show you what things were like in 1812. The ladies cook meals for the participants, while the men get ready for their afternoon skirmish. We have demonstrators throughout the site to depict some of the jobs that would have been done every day, in the life of a village.
Come and watch the blacksmith, as he slaves over a hot forge, or see how the locals would have dyed and spun fibers to make clothing and other articles. Make a candle the way they were made then, or watch the ladies cook and bake over an open fire. There is a lot going on, so join us for the excitement as “Fairfield Comes Alive!”
For more information go to http://friendsoffairfieldmuseum.ca
Fairfield Museum is situated on Longwoods Rd. (the old #2 highway). Just east of Thamesville Ontario. Between London, and Chatham Ontario.
14878 Longwoods Rd., RR#5 Bothwell On. N0P 1C0 Phone: (519) 692-4397
Nestled in the trees along Longwoods Road in Chatham-Kent, between the communities of Thamesville and Bothwell, the museum doesn’t appear to hold any great secrets. But the red log building houses some important artifacts from what was the first settlement of southwestern Ontario–Fairfield Village.
In 1792, Moravian missionary David Seisberger, with his Delaware First Nation converts. cut a church, a school and 40 homes out of the wilderness of what was then Upper Canada.
The peace was soon shattered when Americans, during the War of 1812, chased the British, killed the great Native Chief Tecumseh and then burned Fairfield Village, believing it to be a British settlement. Seisberger and his followers fled, and returned in 1815 to rebuild the village on the other side of the river.
In the 1940’s, an archaeological dig of the original village was undertaken. The artifacts from it are now housed in the Fairfield Museum, which is run by the United Church of Canada.